Previous Page  82 / 126 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 82 / 126 Next Page
Page Background

The “Leahy Medal” is presented to any IGA member who records

multiple victories within the state of Iowa in a single season, or, at

least one victory and three or more top 5 finishes. Qualifying events

include all IGA conducted championships, IGA Sanctioned Point

Events and USGA qualifiers played in Iowa. Additional medals may be

awarded for other extraordinary accomplishments at the committee’s


The award is named after 1991 Iowa Golf Hall of Fame inductee

Bob Leahy of Cedar Falls. Leahy won a total of 11 major IGA events,

including three Iowa Amateurs, during his distinguished

playing career. He then went on to serve the IGA on a

volunteer basis. He served along with George Turner as a

lifetime memeber of the IGA board until his death on April

18, 2016.


In honor of IGA Hall of Fame Member, Bob Leahy

J.D. Anderson

Joe Bates

Jon Brown

2 wins, 4 top 5’s

• Medalist - U.S. Am Qualifier

• 1st - SE Iowa Amateur

• 2nd - IGA Four-Ball

• 2nd Low Am - Iowa Open

• 2nd - Briarwood Amateur

• 3rd - Carroll Amateur

2 wins, 3 top 5’s

• 1st - Fort Dodge Amateur

• 1st - Waterloo Open

• 2nd - Carroll Amateur

• 4th - SE Iowa Amateur

• 5th - IGA Four-Ball

3 wins

• 1st - Iowa Mid-Amateur

• Low Am - Herman Sani

• Low Am - Iowa Open

Terry Cook

1 win, 3 top 5’s

• 1st - SE Iowa Amateur

• 2nd - Fort Dodge Amateur

• 3rd - Briarwood Amateur

• 4th - Iowa Senior Amateur

Women’s Player of the

Year Jenny Heinz (L)

and Mr. Bob Leahy at

the 2015 ceremony.


Julie Buerman

1 win, 2 top 5’s

• 1st - IGA Women’s Match Play

• 2nd - CR Women’s City Amateur

• 4th - Women’s Club Team