Previous Page  44 / 126 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 44 / 126 Next Page
Page Background


Wakonda Club, Des Moines

Echo Valley CC wins Women’s Club Team; Wakonda Club takes NET division

The ladies of Echo Valley Country Club, Leanne Smith,

Amy Glasford, Jordan Rose, and Val Weis edged out

the ladies of Irv Warren Golf Course by just three

strokes to earn the gross title of the 2016 Women’s

Club Team Championship held at the Wakonda Club in

Des Moines.

Echo Valley carded a 34-over-par total of 253 and was

led by Smith, as her 77 was good enough to put her in

a tie for second place with Briarwood’s Karli Kerrigan;

Glasford was close behind finishing tied for fifth after

firing an 83.

IGA Women’s Player of the Year leader, Jenny Heinz

of Sunnyside Country Club, was low individual for the

tournament, posting a three-over-par round of 76.

This was Heinz’s second IGA victory in 2016; she also

won the IGA Women’s Four-Ball back in June with

partner Karli Kerrigan.

The race for the NET title was close, but the

ladies with home course advantage edged out the

competition. Wakonda Club’s, Anne Gradoville (82),

Tish Boothe (76), Linda Craig (74), and Laura Leonard

(75), held off the ladies of Irv Warren GC, posting

a 6 over-par total of 225. Irv Warren GC (226) and

Hunters Ridge GC (230) finished in second and third


Winning the individual NET portion of the competition

with a 2 under-par,71, was Iowa Women’s Amateur

Open Division Champion, Janece Schwartzkopf of 5

by 80 Country Club. Margene Grady of Irv Warren GC

finished second with a 1 under-par 72, while Carol

Klocke of Hunters Ridge GC came in third with an

even-par, 73.

The format for the competition, which includes both

gross and net scores, counts the best three of the four

individual scores for each team.