Mason City | Inducted 1990 | Category: Amateur Golfer

Ann Casey Johnstone kicked of her amateur career with her first major win at the 1941 Iowa Women’s Amateur, starting an impressive 20 year run in amateur golf.  Ann’s resume contains numerous different titles, as well as many great showings in some of the best Amateur tournaments throughout the country.  Ann won a record number, six, Iowa Women’s Amateur titles in her playing career. (This record is also held by Corky Nydle).  Some of her other titles include Palm Beach Invitational, the Trans-Mississippi, North and South Amateur, Western Amateur, Women’s International 4-ball Ball Championship, and the Iowa Husband and Wife Championships.  Those wins are coupled with numerous runner-up finishes, including a U.S. Women’s Amateur Runner up finish, and 3 appearances on the U.S. Curtis Cup team.  Her most impressive year of golf occurred in 1957.  In 1957 Ann received Iowa Golfer of the Year honors by winning the Iowa Women’s Amateur, runner-up at the U.S. Women’s Amateur, runner-up at the Trans-Mississippi, runner-up Women’s Western Amateur, was the low amateur in the Jacksonville Open.  Her final win as an amateur was at the Iowa Husband and Wife Championship in 1963.  In 1964 she turned pro and began a short career on the LPGA tour.  After her tour career was finished she went to Stephens College in Missouri and became the head women’s golf coach and remained there for nearly 30 years. 

Click here to read article from USGA after Johnstone’s passing

Career Highlights

1956, ’60 U.S. Women’s Amateur Semifinalist

1957 U.S. Women’s Amateur Runner-up

1958 U.S. Women’s Amateur quarterfinalist

1941, ‘51, ’54, ’55, ’57, ‘59     Iowa Women’s Amateur Champion

1956     Palm Beach Invitational Champion

1958, ’60, ‘62     U.S. Curtis Cup Member

1958      D.J. Manoce award for Outstanding Amateur Golfer

1959     Trans-Mississippi Women’s Champion

1959     North and South Amateur Champion

1959     Women’s International 4-ball Champion

1963     Iowa Wife-Husband Champion

1966     LPGA T&CP Teacher of the Year Award

1976     Iowa Sports Hall of Fame induction

1982     LPGA T&CP Coach of the Year Award

1986     Inducted to the National Golf Coaches Association Hall of Fame

1996     Ellen Griffin Rolex Award

1997     NCGA’s Gladys Palmer Rolex Meritorious Award

Scroll to top