Cook, Brown take home titles at The Classic

Clive’s Scot Cook (Open Division) and Jon Brown (Senior Division) took home the titles from the inaugural ‘The Classic’ held at Elmwood Country Club, in Marshalltown. The Classic, is the first Iowa Golf Association point event played under a modified stableford format, in which players earn points per hole based on their score as follows:
Double Eagle: 12 points
Eagle: 8 points
Birdie: 4 points
Par: 2 points
Bogey: 1 point
Double Bogey or worse: 0 points

Cook (above left), posted rounds of 42 and 41 points respectively to outdistance a trio that included Dustin Atkinson, Ethan Mechling and Jeff Collett, who all finished seven points behind Cook. Over the two-day event, Cook made 10 birdies.

Jon Brown (78 points), playing in his first Senior Division event after turning 50 last fall, edged Ron Peterson by a single point to capture the title. Brown (above right) also collected 10 birdies on the weekend, including three in a row to finish his first round. Rob Christensen (see video Christensen’s birdie on #18), an Elmwood member, finished in third place, seven points back of Brown’s total.


Scott Cook receives the ceremonial white jacket as champion of The Classic.

Jon Brown slips into this white jacket after winning the Senior Division of The Classic.

Scroll to top