Month: July 2018

Follow the 81st Iowa Masters

One of Iowa’s oldest and most prestigious tournaments gets underway this weekend when Veenker Memorial Golf Course in Ames hosts the 81st Iowa Masters.  Gene Elliott will look to defend his title in the Open Division while Ron Peterson looks to win the Senior title for the second straight year.

Elliott’s 2017 title was his third overall in the Iowa Masters, all coming since 2009.  His 11-under par total of 205 was two shots clear of four-time champion Jon Brown.  Brown recently won the IGA Match Play for the third time in his career.  Both Elliott and Brown are members of the Iowa Golf Hall of Fame.

Peterson’s win in 2017 was a runaway.  He posted 5-under par 211 while his closest pursuers were 12 shots back.

The tournament kicks off with round 1 on Friday, July 6th and wraps up with the 3rd and final round on Sunday, July 8th.  There is a cut after 36 holes.

Follow all the action by clicking here.

Missouri wins 50th Girls’ 4-State Championship


The 50th Junior Girls’ 4-State kicked off July 2, at Coldwater Golf Links in Ames.  The top five junior girls’ from the states of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska came together to play 36-holes of golf over a two-day period.  

The opening round brought beautiful weather and light wind, perfect for 18 holes.  Amber Wilson shot a 71, an even par and the lowest score of the day, to pave the way for Team Missouri. Danica Badura carried Team Nebraska with a 72. Abby Glyn shot a 74 to lead the way for Team Kansas along with Sarah Nacos for Team Iowa.

After the first day of team stroke play team Nebraska sits at the top of the leaderboard with +23 while team Kansas is only one stroke back, with +24.  Team Missouri is in third with +28 and Team Iowa has a +41.


With a prompt tee off at 7:30 a.m., the second day of the Junior Girls’ 4-State tournament started early. 

Team Missouri and Team Kansas were neck and neck all day.  Ultimately Team Missouri pulled away for the win with a two-day score of 620, Team Kansas finished four strokes back with a 624.  Team Nebraska ended with a 630 and Team Iowa posted a 634.

Sarah Bell (Team Missouri) was the medalist of the tournament with a score of 144.  Bell’s round included an eagle and three birdies. Amber Wilson (Team Missouri) took second with a 148.

Brooke Boardman (Team Iowa) finished with a solid 149 to secure third place.  Sarah Nacos was not far behind with a 150. Paige Hoffman fired a 73 in the second round, 18 strokes better than her opening round score.

Team Missouri takes home the trophy for the first time since 2015.  The 2019 Girls 4-State Championship will be held next year in Nebraska.

Click here to see a recap of scoring

Scroll to top