Ottumwa | DOB: May 9, 1890: Died: November, 1974 (Age 84)

Inducted in 1990 | Category: Amateur Golfer

Art Bartlett, from Ottumwa, won more Iowa Amateur Championships (7) than anyone else in Iowa’s history.  His first Iowa Amateur title came at age 24 in 1914 and he won three of the next four years. He was a finalist 10 times in a 16 year stretch, winning again in 1924, 1928 and 1929.

Bartlett had a dominant period of play in 1927-1929 winning in the Iowa Amateur twice, the Iowa Open twice (1927-28) and the 1928 Trans-Mississippi Championship played at the Wakonda Club in Des Moines.  He also advanced to the finals of the Trans-Miss in 1925 losing to Clarence Wolff at the Omaha Field Club.

Mr. Bartlett passed away in 1974.

Career Highlights

9 Iowa Major Titles

1914, 15, 17, 18, 24, 28, 29 Iowa Amateur Champion 

1927 & 1928 Iowa Open Champion

1928 Trans-Mississippi Champion

Scroll to top