2017 Ann Griffel Scholarship Winners Announced

The Iowa Golf Association (IGA) is pleased to announce the 2017 recipients of the Ann Griffel Scholarship Award (Griffel is pictured above in sport  coat).  Anne Gradoville, Johanna Vander Wilt, Abby Koch, Ann Hedlund and Beth Stolte will receive a one year scholarship of $2,000. These girls will join a group of 223 other students to have received this award since 1963.

Anne Gradoville is the daughter of Bernard and Kathleen Gradoville. She is a graduate of Dowling Catholic High School and plans on attending the University of Northern Iowa in the fall. While there she intends to study speech pathology. She will be representing the University of Northern Iowa as a member of their Women’s Golf team.



Johanna Vander Wilt is the daughter of David and Maggie Vander Wilt. She just graduated South Hardin High School in Eldora, IA. She will be attending Wartburg College in the fall and begin her studies in Elementary Education. She has also been asked to join Wartburg’s Women’s Golf team, be a manager for the volleyball team and tryout for a spot on the cheer team.



Abby Koch is the daughter of Ron and Mary Koch. She has completed her high school career at East High School is Sioux City, IA. In the fall she will attend Morningside College and pursue a degree in Graphic Design. Abby will also be continuing her golf career on the Morningside College Women’s Golf team.



Ann Hedlund is the daughter of Troy and Debra Hedlund. She attended Akron Westfield Senior High in Akron, IA. Ann has been accepted to Briar Cliff University, where she will pursue and education in Nursing. She will compete on the Briar Cliff Women’s Golf team this coming fall.



Beth Stolte graduated from Winterset High School in Winterset, IA this spring, and is attending Simpson College in the fall. At Simpson College, she intends to pursue a degree in Clinical Health Sciences. Beth will also be continuing her golf career as a member of Simpson’s Women’s Golf team.



The Ann Griffel Scholarship was established in 1963. It originated as just one $350 scholarship awarded by the Iowa Women’s Golf Association (IWGA) and has evolved into a $2,000 scholarship awarded to multiple high school senior girls who intend to further their education at an Iowa institution of higher learning, whether a college, university or trade school.

The Iowa Golf Association Foundation (IGAF) was established to preserve the game and develop more programs to promote the future of golf in Iowa. The IGAF awards the Ann Griffel scholarship each year. This scholarship was named after the long time IWGA President, Ann Griffel, who during her 23 year term started the Girls’ State Junior, Forever 39, State Wife-Husband and Senior Women’s Championships.

The Iowa Golf Association serves as the governing body of golf for the state of Iowa. Run by amateur golfers the IGA provides a variety of programs and services that benefit everyone who plays the game

Scroll to top