George Turner Distinguished Service Award

George Turner’s contributions to Iowa golf have come both on and off the golf course. From his victories in two designated major championships, Turner’s name is well-known in Iowa. 

The Iowa Golf Association named its distinguished service award after Turner in 2003. His name value runs beyond state borders. Turner qualified for and played in the 1981, 1984 and 1993 U.S. Senior Open and the 1988, 1990 and 1991 U.S. Senior Amateur. Off the course, George has been an Iowa Golf Association volunteer for decades, helping run numerous events. George and John Nervig took over operations of the Iowa Masters from the late Harry Burrell 20 years ago. It’s not an official Iowa Golf Association event unless George Turner is somewhere on the course!
(Courtesy of Rick Brown)

2020 Jim Carney – Des Moines

2019 Hillis Rupe – Des Moines
Jerry Danforth – Cedar Rapids

2018 Larry Lockridge – Des Moines

2017 Judy McCarty – Ft. Madison

2016    John Matovina – West Des Moines
Ted Coppock – West Des Moines

2015    Tom Berg – Waterloo
Bob Rose – Spencer

2014    Joe Kehoe – Bettendorf

2013    Jill Blackwood – Burlington

2012    Ron Van Buskirk – Sioux City

2011    John Nervig – Ames

2010    Bob Leahy – Cedar Falls
LeRoy Oxley – Panora

2007    Jim Mitchell – Johnston

2003    Jim Winegardner – Shenandoah

2002    Kevin Beard – Ankeny

2001    Chris Coen – West Des Moines
Walt Hodge – Dubuque

1995    Northwest Iowa Amateur

1995    Edd Bowers – Grinnell

1993    Iowa Golf Course Superintendents Association

1992    The Robert Clark Family

1990    J.D. Turner – Des Moines

1989    Chuck Zweiner – Iowa City

1988    Ozzie Osborn – Spencer
Harry Burell – Ames

1987    Buck Tumbull – Des Moines

1986    Iowa Section PGA

1985    Joe August – Marshalltown

Scroll to top