Clive | Inducted 2013 | Category: Amateur Golfer

Jon Brown has been one of the best amateur players in Iowa golf history. He is a two-time IGA Player of the Year (2004, 2006) and finished no worse than second in the rankings between 2003 and 2008. He has finished runner-up in the final point standings for Player of the Year 12 times, most recently in 2022.

Brown has had 26 victories in IGA or IGA-anctioned point events, third all-time behind fellow Hall of Fame inductees Mike McCoy and Gene Elliott. He is one of only three players to have won both the Iowa Amateur and Iowa Match Play Championships in the same year, and is the only player to have won the Iowa Match Play title three times.

Brown’s four Iowa Masters titles tie him for the most victories all-time in that event with fellow Hall of Fame inductees Pat Willcox, Joe Brown and Gene Elliott. Jon’s introduction to Veekner golf course and the Masters was as a caddy for his older brother, Jim. Brown has played in 12 USGA Championships including five appearances for Iowa at the USGA Men’s State Team. He has qualified twice for both the U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship and three times into the U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship (two with Jon Olson, one with Ethan Mechling). His 13th USGA appearance will come at the 2023 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball in May.

Brown is also well known for his success in the Des Moines City Championship at historic Waveland Golf Course, having won the title an unprecedented 14 times (through 2023). He reeled off seven consecutive victories between 2005 and 2011, and at one point during the streak he recorded 15 consecutive sub-par rounds.

Brown also owns the men’s record for the largest margin of victory in an IGA sanctioned point-event, having run away from the field in the 2003 Ottumwa Amateur by 16 strokes. The previous record was 14 strokes by Harold “Jug” McSpadden in the 1934 Iowa Open. Jon considers his 2006 Iowa Amateur and 1993 Sani titles as career highlights. He grew up playing at Hyperion, where the Sani was contested.

Hall of Famer Gene Elliott has called Brown “the best player to never take his game national.” In a letter supporting the nomination close friend and 2012 Iowa Amateur Champion Jon Olson referenced Brown’s decision to play most of his golf at the state and local level: “…amateur golfers in the nation…were lucky not to have lost to him so many times. Fortunately for us here in Iowa, we get to see greatness firsthand.”

Career Highlights

  • Iowa Golf Association Player of the Year – 2004 & 2006
  • Iowa Amateur Champion – 2006 & 2019 • Iowa Match Play Champion – 2003, 2006 & 2018
  • Iowa Mid-Amateur Champion – 2008 & 2016 • IGA Four-Ball Champion (with Ty Stewart) – 2008, (with Gene Elliott) – 2021
  • Herman Sani Tournament Champion – 1993
  • Iowa Masters Champion – 1990, 2004, 2005 & 2010
  • Northwest Amateur Champion – 1992 & 2021 • Carroll Amateur Champion – 2005, 2008, 2017
  • Lake Creek Amateur Champion – 1993 & 2008 • Briarwood Amateur Champion – 2006, 2008 & 2019
  • Ottumwa Amateur Champion – 2003 • Des Moines City Champion – 1993, 95, 2005, 06, 07, 08, 09, 10, 11, 14, 15, 20, 22
  • The Classic – 2019
  • Bob Leahy Medal recipient – 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022

Jon was honored as one of Golfweek magazine’s “Local Legends” in April, 2011Click here to see the article

USGA Men’s State Team – 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009 & 2010
U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship– 1992 & 2009
U.S. Amateur Four Ball Championship (with Jon Olson) – 2016 & 2017, (with Ethan Mechling) – 2022
U.S. Senior Amateur – 2022 (Quarterfinalist), 2023

Served on IGA Rules & Competition Committee, 2014-current
Served on IGA Hall of Fame Committee, 2014-current
Served on IGA Board of Directors, 2018-current

Scroll to top