McCoy eyeing career pinnacle with Walker Cup triumph

Step inside the mind of Walker Cup Captain Mike McCoy with this article from the R&A.

USA Walker Cup Team Finalized

Nick Gabrelcik, 21, of Trinity, Fla.; Austin Greaser, 21, of Vandalia, Ohio; Stewart Hagestad, 32, of Newport Beach, Calif.; Ben James, 19, of Milford, Conn.; Dylan Menante, 22, of Carlsbad, Calif.; and Preston Summerhays, 19, of Scottsdale, Ariz., were named to the 2023 USA Walker Cup Team by the USGA’s International Team Selection (ITS) working group on Sunday night to complete the 10-player team.

Dunlap, Surratt Added to 2023 USA Walker Cup Team

Nick Dunlap, 19, of Huntsville, Ala., and Caleb Surratt, 19, of Indian Trail, N.C., were named to the 2023 USA Walker Cup Team by the USGA’s International Team Selection (ITS) working group announced on Monday.

First 3 USA Walker Cup Team Players Selected for 2023 Match

Gordon Sargent, 20, of Birmingham, Ala., Michael Thorbjornsen, 21, of Wellesley, Mass. and David Ford, 20, of Peachtree Corners, Ga., have earned places on the 2023 USA Walker Cup Team as the top Americans in the World Amateur Golf Ranking®/WAGR® as of June 21. The trio is ranked No. 1, 2 and 3 respectively. They will compete against Great Britain and Ireland in the 49th Walker Cup Match on Sept. 2-3 at the Old Course in St. Andrews, Scotland.


The championship pits ten amateur golfers from the United States against ten from Great Britain and Ireland every other year, bringing together twenty of the world’s best amateur golfers. The teams compete in alternate shot matches as well as singles matches, awarding one point for each victory and half a point for each match that finishes all square after 18 holes. As defending champions, the USA only needs 13 points to keep the cup, while GB&I needs 13.5 points to win back the cup.

Did You Know?

The USA has won the last three Walker Cups and leads 39-9-1 throughout the history of the tournament.

McCoy Captains 2023 Walker Cup

Iowa’s Mike McCoy will lead the 2023 U.S. Walker Cup Team as Captain. McCoy, who participated in the Walker Cup in 2015 as a player following his win at the 2013 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, will captain the Walker Cup Team at the Old Course at St. Andrews, St. Andrews, Scotland, Sept. 2-3, 2023. McCoy, a well-known figure on the Iowa golf scene, joins 1975 Walker Cup Captain Dr. Updegraff as one of only two Iowans to captain the team. McCoy joins professional golfer Zach Johnson, another Iowa Golf Hall of Famer who will captain the Ryder Cup this year, in representing Iowa on golf’s international stage.

Scroll to top