2019 Ann Griffel Scholarship Award recipients named

The Iowa Golf Association (IGA) is pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of the Ann Griffel Scholarship Award (Griffel is pictured above in sport coat). Whitney Anderson, Jenna Krogulski, Annika Patton, Kennedy Sorenson and Delaney Underwood will receive a one year scholarship of $2,000. These girls will join the group of 232 other students to have received this award since 1963.

Whitney Anderson is the daughter of Doyle and Melanie Anderson. She is a graduate of Sioux Center High School, and will be attending Central College in the fall to study Biology and play golf.

“I can’t thank the Ann Griffel Scholarship Committee enough for selecting me for this award,” Anderson said “It not only accentuates my love for golf, but it also allows me the opportunity to continue my education and golf career at Central College in Pella. Golf has been a highlight of my high school years and will continue to play a big role in my life at college and beyond.”


Jenna Krogulski is the daughter of Eric and Michelle Krogulski. She is a graduate of Valley High School and will be attending Wartburg College to study Exercise Science and Psychology. She will be a member of the Knights Women’s Golf team.

“I want to thank the committee for selecting me for the Ann Griffel Scholarship,” Krogulski said. “It is such an honor to be chosen as a recipient of this award. Golf is a huge part of my life and I couldn’t be more excited to have the opportunity to continue playing golf at the next level while pursuing an education at Wartburg College. I’m very excited to represent this scholarship and the Iowa Golf Association”


Annika Patton is the daughter of David and LeAnn Patton. She is a graduate of Alta-Aurelia High School and will be attending the University of Northern Iowa in the fall. She will be studying Business Management (Sports Marketing) while also competing on the Women’s Golf team.

“I am beyond thankful and appreciative to to be selected as a 2019 recipient of the Ann Griffel Scholarship,” Patton said. “The game of golf has provided unlimited opportunities to my life, and I hope to continue preserving and growing the game to the best of my ability. It is such an honor to receive a scholarship that will personally contribute to my future academic and golf careers at the University of Northern Iowa.”


Delaney Underwood is the daughter of Mike and Shannon Underwood. She is a graduate of Colfax-Mingo High School and will be attending Central College in the fall to study Mathematics and Chemistry. She will play on the Central College Women’s Golf team.

“It is truly an honor to be chosen as one of this year’s Ann Griffel scholarship recipients,” Underwood said. “I would like to thank the scholarship committee for selecting me and helping support my college education goals. While I plan to continue my golf career at Central College, I also plan to continue promoting golf by trying to get more young girls involved in the sport.”


Kennedy Sorenson is the daughter of Willy and Amy Sorenson. Kennedy is a graduate of Carlisle High School and plans to attend Iowa State University in the fall.

“My aspiration in life is to become a physician,” Sorenson said. “To begin this journey I will be attending Iowa State University this fall for my undergraduate degree. Golf has not just taught me things about itself, but it has taught me a lot about myself. It changed me to be the confident, industrious, and independent woman I am today, and for that, I will forever be in debt for golf’s kindness.”


The Ann Griffel Scholarship was established in 1963. It originated as just one $350 scholarship awarded by the Iowa Women’s Golf Association (IWGA) and has evolved into a $2,000 scholarship awarded to multiple high school senior girls who intend to further their education at an Iowa institution of higher learning, whether a college, university or trade school.

The Iowa Golf Association Foundation (IGAF) was established to preserve the game and develop more programs to promote the future of golf in Iowa. The IGAF awards the Ann Griffel scholarship each year. This scholarship was named after the long time IWGA President, Ann Griffel, who during her 23 year term started the Girls’ State Junior, Forever 39, State Wife-Husband and Senior Women’s Championships.

Scroll to top