IGA Player of the Year announced – Women’s

Julie Buerman (above) of Cedar Rapids had a terrific golf season.  She posted numerous top finishes which led to her claiming her first IGA Women’s Player of the Year award.

Buerman, 42, was the Forever 39 Match Play in 2017. She also was medalist at the IGA’s Women’s Club Team event, a semifinalist in the IGA Women’s Match Play and finished in third place at the IGA Women’s Four-Ball (with partner Janelle Carter).

Finishing runner-up in this year’s IGA Women’s Player of the Year race was Karli Kerrigan of Ankeny. Kerrigan, 19, teamed up with Jenny Heinz to capture the Iowa Women’s Four-Ball, finished second individually at the IGA Women’s Club Team and was a semifinalist at the IGA Women’s Match Play.

Iowa Women’s Amateur champion Britta Synder, 15 of Ames, finished third in the standings, while Heinz (Cedar Falls) and Leanne Smith of Indianola finished in 4th and 5th place, respectively.


Rose Kubesheski (above) is once again the IGA Senior Women’s Player of the Year, and she won it going away in 2017.

Kubesheski, 57, of Dubuque, won the Senior Player of the Year in 2016 and has now been honored four times.  She won her third straight Iowa Senior Women’s Amateur title (and sixth overall). She also qualified for the U.S. Women’s Senior Amateur and claimed the Senior Division of the Iowa Women’s Four-Ball title (with partner Margene Grady).

Kathy Fortune, 59, finished runner-up to Kubesheksi.  Fortune, of Rockwell City, posted top finishes at the Iowa Senior Women’s Amateur (2nd), Senior Division of the Iowa Women’s Four-Ball title (2nd) and Iowa Women’s Amateur – Open Division (3rd).

Other top finishers in the final standings were Janece Swartzkopf (3rd place), Margene Grady (4th place) and Janis Owens (5th place).

​The players will be honored at a ceremony in mid-December.  Details on the event will be released in the coming weeks.​

Scroll to top