Jahn wins 83rd Iowa Masters by six shots

When Sperry’s Charles Jahn (pictured left with John Nervig) took the lead in the 83rd Iowa Masters, he didn’t look back. Jahn began Sunday’s final round at 6-under par, holding a two-stroke advantage over reigning champion Nate McCoy, of Ankeny.

After top 5 finishes in last year’s 117th Iowa Amateur Championship and 70th Herman Sani Tournament, this was Jahn’s time to shine. He executed with near perfection on Sunday, carding five birdies, an eagle, and a mere bogey on his way to a round of 66 (-6) and grand total of 204 (-12). McCoy played steady on Sunday, posting a round of 70 (-2) for a final total of 210 (-6) to finish runner-up. Nate Vance, of Marshalltown, finished in third place with a three-day total of 213 (-3).

Joe Palmer (pictured right with John Nervig), of West Des Moines, clinched the title in the Senior Division, finishing 11-shots clear of the field with rounds of 70-74-71 for a total of 215 (-1). Winterset’s Kirk Macumber finished runner-up with a final tally of 226 (+10).

In the Super Senior Division, Marshalltown’s Pat Ryan mounted a final round comeback, carding a round of 73 (+1) to finish two shots clear of Richard Gorbell, of Cedar Falls. Ryan posted rounds of 73-82-73 for a total of 228 (+12).

Clive’s Jake Calhoun rose to the top in the Cyclone Flight, posting rounds of 84-74-72 for a 230 (+14) total

Click here to see full results

Scroll to top