McCoy wins 2021 Carroll Amateur in playoff over Peck

The former Carroll Amateur Champion did it again. Nate McCoy (pictured above), of Ankeny, defeated the former IGA Player of the Year, Connor Peck, in a playoff to secure his second career Carroll Amateur victory.

McCoy began his weekend with a 3-under 68 in round one and managed to maintain a lead for all three rounds.

“It is important to get into contention from the start and it really helps keep your intensity level up,” McCoy said.

Heading into the final round with a three-shot lead over Peck, McCoy knew the type of player he was going to face.

“Connor is one of the greatest competitors you could go up against,” McCoy said. “He is very calm and makes good choices. I tried to just play my own ball and focus on what I could control.”

Late in the final round, McCoy and Peck saved par on 16 and headed into the final two-hole stretch.

“He (Peck) hit it to a couple feet on 17 and I hit it to 10-12 feet,” McCoy said. “If I would have missed that putt we would have been tied.”

Heading to 18 with a one-shot lead, McCoy continued to play his game. Peck knew he needed to make something happen to give him a shot at a playoff.

McCoy shared, “Connor hit an unbelievably good wedge shot on 18. I narrowly missed my birdie putt and Connor poured in a beautiful left to right swinger.”

After Peck forced a playoff, McCoy did not change his mind set and continued to play hard. McCoy made a birdie to win the playoff against a tough competitor in Peck.

“My birdie on the 1st playoff hole was a 12-14 foot left to right downhill putt,” McCoy said. “I just tried to give it my best and thankfully it fell. It was a lot of fun playing with Connor. He is truly one of the best guys you will ever play with.”

In the Open Division, Sioux City native, Xan Milligan carded a two-round tally of 153 (79-74). Milligan shared the lead within the division after the first round and followed up his 79 in round one with a 3-over 74 to secure the win by one shot. Michael Clark, of Spencer, made a charge up the leaderboard in the final round with a 1-over 72 and finished in second place.

In the Senior Division Chris Kramer, of West Des Moines, and Gary Ellis, of Norwalk, were tied for the lead after recording a 144 total for two rounds. Kramer was the round one leader after posting a 1-under 70 and then recorded a 3-over 74 in round two. Ellis, who won the title on the first playoff hole over Kramer, was four back entering the final round and managed to shoot a 1-under 70 to finish tied with Kramer.

Des Moines native, James Blackburn won the Super Senior Division by one shot over Brian Fell, of Ames. Blackburn was six shots off the lead entering the final round and fired a 77 to surpass Fell’s two round total of 162.

The next 2021 Additional Point Event will be the Fort Dodge Amateur, starting June 18, and will continue into June 20th. The event will take place in Fort Dodge at the Fort Dodge Country Club.

1. Nate McCoy 68-70-73-211 (Won Playoff)
2. Connor Peck 71-70-70-211
3. Ben Hicks 72-72-70-214
T4. Wade Pettitt 72-70-73-215
T4. Mark Noonan 75-68-72-215

1. Xan Milligan 79-74-153
2. Michael Clark 82-72-154
3. Jared Tigges 79-78-157
T4. Collin Tjepkes 80-78-158
T4. Dave Akers 81-77-158
T4. Alec Barber 81-77-158

T1. Gary Ellis 74-70-144 (Won Playoff)
T1. Chris Kramer 70-74-144
T3. Jeff Collett 74-71-145
T3. Ron Peterson 71-74-145
T5. Jeff Panek 75-71-146
T5. Rick Sanders 72-74-146

1. James Blackburn 84-77-161
2. Brian Fell 78-84-162
3. Tim Taylor 82-83-165
4. Dan Trerotola 83-88-171
5. Randy Studer 84-88-172

Scroll to top