Nate McCoy wins third career Iowa Masters crown

After postponing the first round of the Iowa Masters, Veenker Memorial Golf Course was able to move forward. Normally a three-round tournament turned into a two-round championship after storms took over on Friday.

The Iowa Masters committee and Veenker Memorial Golf Course’s staff were able to continue one of Iowa’s most loved championship. Ankeny’s Nate McCoy (left), is now a three-time Iowa Masters Champion after claiming the trophy this weekend at Veenker Memorial Golf Course.

“It feels great,” McCoy said. “I love Veenker and I love the Iowa Masters. I grew up playing Veenker as a young kid when I went to Iowa State Golf Camp and loved it ever since. There have been some great champions over the years so to have my name listed with theirs means a lot.”

With this win, McCoy now has two first place finishes on the season and will cruise into first place in the IGA Player of the Year race over Jon Brown, who finished in third place this weekend, and Connor Peck. McCoy’s confidence continues to grow, and this win will be an extra push for tomorrow’s Iowa Amateur.

“I definitely have a little more confidence going into the Iowa Amateur considering I have a couple extra tournaments under my belt,” McCoy said. “Wakonda will be a blast and I am excited to play.”

Sam Lockhart finished in second place, three shots behind McCoy. Lockhart was just down one shot to four-time Iowa Masters winner, Jon Brown, after round one. Lockhart played well in the final round, but McCoy’s final-round of 68 shot him up the leaderboard to earn the win.

In the Senior Flight, Jay Gregory (right) came back and won after being down three shots going into the final round. Ron Peterson was the solo leader after round one, but had some struggles in the final round. Joe Palmer and Kirk Macumber came racing up the leaderboard, but ultimately fell to Gregory by one shot.

Gregory Lee took the win in the Super Senior Division after firing rounds of 75 and 79 for a two-round total of 154. Lee’s two shot lead after the first round grew into a three-shot win after the final round. Lee went one-under in his last four holes to take the victory.


Masters Flight (Championship)
1. Nate McCoy 72-68-140
2. Sam Lockhart 71-72-143
3. Jon Brown 70-74-144
T4. Cole Davis 75-73-148
T4. Tyler Sansgaard 73-75-148

Cyclone Flight
1. Caleb Peters 80-74-154
2. Samuel Vertanen 81-76-157
3. Trenton Sann 80-80-160
4. Collin Tjepkes 81-81-162
T5. Evan Krause 80-85-165
T5. Drake Ellgren 81-84-165

Senior Flight
1. Jay Gregory 73-71-144
T2. Joe Palmer 74-71-145
T2. Kirk Macumber 73-72-145
4. Bob Brooks 76-70-146
5. Dave Gaer 71-76-147

Super Senior Flight
1. Gregory Lee 75-79-154
2. Dick Stuntz 77-80-157
3. Pat Ryan 78-82-160
4. Rick Gorbell 77-84-161

Scroll to top