Olson takes home 2022 Briarwood Amateur, Johnson & Brooks claim division titles

Jon Olson (right) claimed his first win of the season with a comeback victory at the 2022  Briarwood Amateur. Down three shots heading into the final round, Olson began his chase at the first-round leader, Andrew Huseman.

Following the front nine, Olson was able to get within two shots of the lead. Olson played the following five holes at an astounding four-under par to grab the solo lead by three-shots. Bogeys on 15 and 16 put Olson and Huseman in a tie going into the penultimate hole. 

Both competitors matched each other with pars on 17, but Olson was able to pull away and secure his first title of the 2022 season with a birdie on the 18th hole. 

Jack Winkel and Willis Gaer concluded their weekend in a tie for third place at two-under par. Winkel held second place after a first round 67, but a 75 on the last day set him back. Gaer carded rounds of 72 and 70 to finish inside the top-three. 

John Burgett, Connor Peck and Ethan Mechling all share fifth place honors with 143 totals. Peck and Mechling posted rounds of 71 and 72 to earn top-five placements. Burgett recorded a 70 in round one and followed it up with a 73 during the final round. 

With rounds of 68 and 70, the Briarwood member, Bill Johnson, took home the Senior Division title over the 2005 Iowa Amateur Champion, Brian Verduyn. Johnson recorded only three bogeys to his nine birdies to grab victory. 

Bret Taylor earned a solo third place finish with a 143 total. Taylor carded rounds of 69 and 74 and was five-shots out of first place. Dave Gaer, Jason Thornbrugh and Kirk Macumber tied for fourth place with 144 tallies. 

The 2022 Iowa Super Senior Champion, Bob Brooks, has now won titles in back-to-back tournaments. Brooks was recently crowned champion at Ames Golf and Country Club and followed it up with a dominating win in the Super Senior Division at Briarwood. 

Brooks went low this weekend, carding rounds of 64 and 67 to earn an eight-shot victory. With 13 birdies and one eagle for the weekend, nobody was catching Brooks. 

Joel Yunek took second place honors with a five-under tally. Yunek carded rounds of 68 and 71 this weekend. Scott Hornstein rounded out the top-three at four-under par. Rob Christensen tied with Jeff Marner for fourth place.

Open Division
1. Jon Olson 68-70=138
2. Andrew Huseman 65-74=139
T3. Jack Winkel 67-75=142
T3. Willis Gaer 72-70=142
T5. John Burgett 70-73=143
T5. Connor Peck 71-72=143
T5. Ethan Mechling 71-72=143

Senior Division
1. Bill Johnson 68-70=138
2. Brian Verduyn 69-70=139
3. Bret Taylor 69-74=143
T4. Dave Gaer 75-69=144
T4. Jason Thornbrugh 70-74=144
T4. Kirk Macumber 71-73=144

Super Senior Division
1. Bob Brooks 64-67=131
2. Joel Yunek 68-71=139
3. Scott Hornstein 71-69=140
T4. Rob Christensen 73-72=145
T4. Jeff Marner 71-74=145

Scroll to top