Ruthey charges back in final round, wins 2022 Southeast Iowa Amateur

Port Byron’s Anthony Ruthey (above left with PGA Professional Darin Fisher) completed an impressive comeback to win the 2022 Southeast Iowa Amateur, held at The Preserve on Rathbun Lake in Moravia. Ruthey defeated the first-round leader, Dylan Ellis, of Parkersburg, in a playoff to win the tournament.

On day one, Ruthey tallied 15 pars to go along with two birdies and one bogey. He began the second round seven shots back of Ellis after posting his first-round score of 71.

With a pair of birdies to start round two, Ruthey started to catch fire. He carded a two-under 34 on the front nine and followed it up with three-under 33 on the back. Ruthey’s second round 67 was just enough to sneak into a playoff with Ellis and ultimately win the tournament.

Ellis went low in the first round, firing an eight-under 64 that included two eagles on hole two and 14. On the front nine, Ellis recorded a six-under 30 and started to pull away from the field. A couple bogeys on day two and a low round by Ruthey placed Ellis in a playoff.

J.D. Anderson, of Johnston, earned his fourth top-five finish this season after placing third with a 141 (70-71) total. Pella’s William Simpson finished in fourth place, one shot ahead of a tie for second between Cale Leonard, of Ottumwa, and Jay Gregory, of Lineville.

In the Senior Division, Tony Newkirk (right) of Des Moines won by two shots over Dave Gaer. Newkirk carded a 68 in the first round and posted a 73 in the second to finish at three-under par for the weekend.

Down five going into the final round, Gaer cut Newkirk’s lead down to one, but a bogey on the 18th gave Newkirk a two-shot victory.

Bill Corrick, of Fairfield, and Albia’s Joe Bates finished in a tie for third place. The recent IGA Senior Match Play Champion, Jeff Collett tied with Legrand’s Troy Underhill for fifth place.

Pat Ryan, of Marshalltown, won the Super Senior Division by four shots over Bruce Neeley of Independence. Ryan was down one going into the final round, where he fired a two-under 70 to overtake the lead.

Jim Campbell, of Albia, finished in third place at six-over par. He was two shots ahead of Kevin Halbmaier who held on to fourth place. David Studer, of West Des Moines, rounded out the top-five with a 154 (78-76) total.

Open Division
1. Anthony Ruthey 71-67-138 *Won Playoff*
2. Dylan Ellis 64-74-138
3. J.D. Anderson 70-71-141
4. William Simpson 72-70-142
T5. Cale Leonard 74-69-143
T5. Jay Gregory 70-73-143

Senior Division
1. Tony Newkirk 68-73-141
2. Dave Gaer 73-70-143
T3. Bill Corrick 74-73-147
T3. Joe Bates 72-75-147
T5. Troy Underhill 74-74-148
T5. Jeff Collett 74-74-148

Super Senior Division
1. Pat Ryan 75-70-145
2. Bruce Neeley 74-75-149
3. Jim Campbell 77-73-150
4. Kevin Halbmaier 78-74-152
5. David Studer 78-76-154

Scroll to top