Combs leads 37th Iowa Mid-Amateur at Spencer Golf & CC

The first round of the 37th Iowa Mid-Amateur Championship began Friday morning at Spencer Golf and Country Club. An unexpected battle arose for the players as they made their way around the cold and windy course.

Winds were around 20 to 25 mph with temperatures ranging from 50 to 60 degrees. The greens rolled quickly, and the fairways played narrow, providing the ultimate test for those playing.

“The wind started to pick up a little bit and it’s just cold,” said the opening round leader, David Combs. “It wasn’t as far as tough pins, but just hitting shots and getting comfortable with the greens. It was just cold and one of those days where wind is blowing, and it just doesn’t fly as far.”

Only three players out of all three divisions carded under-par rounds. Combs, of West Des Moines, held onto first place in the Mid-Amateur Division after firing an early morning 70 (-2) in round one.

“I haven’t had a chance to play the Mid-Amateur because I have been coaching in the spring for the last 10 years,” Combs said. “I just focused on hitting shots and putting well on the greens.”

After carding back-to-back 35s on the scorecard Friday, Combs sits ahead of six players who are only two shots back. Nate McCoy, Justin Livingston, Jon Olson, Luke Vermeer, J.P. Kramer, and Bill Matzdorff are all tied for second after posting 70 (E).

In the Senior Division, Orange City’s, Bob Brummel, holds a one-shot lead over Chris Kramer, of West Des Moines through the championship’s first 18-holes. Brummel’s included five birdies.

Kramer, originally from Spencer, caught fire at the end of his round, going three-under in his final eight holes. He sits one stroke ahead of a five-way tie for third place between Kirk Macumber, Joe Palmer, Sean Davis, Eric Losen and Jeff Collett.

Bill Mathers, of Correctionville, posted an even round of 72 in the Super Senior Division to take a two-shot lead into the final round. The second-place holder, James Blackburn, carded a two-over 74 and will look to make up two shots during Saturday’s final round.

The final round will begin at 7:30 on Saturday morning. You can follow the final round using the live leaderboard.

Mid-Amateur Division
1. David Combs 70
T2. Nate McCoy 72
T2. Justin Livingston 72
T2. Jon Olson 72
T2. Luke Vermeer 72
T2. J.P. Kramer 72
T2. Bill Matzdorff 72

Senior Division
1. Bob Brummel 70
2. Chris Kramer 71
T3. Kirk Macumber 72
T3. Joe Palmer 72
T3. Sean Davis 72
T3 Eric Losen 72
T3. Jeff Collett 72

Super Senior Division
1. Bill Mathers 72
2. James Blackburn 74
T3. Harold Hickman 75
T3. Steve Kahler 75
T3. Tom Schill 75

Scroll to top