Down to four at IGA Match Play, Women’s Match Play

Only four remain after day three of the IGA Men’s and Women’s Match Play Championships. Dylan Ellis, Willis Gaer, Nate McCoy and Ethan Mechling are all headed to the semifinal round of the men’s championship. Defending champion, Leanne Smith, along with Anna Jensen, Fiona Watson and Paige Hoffman are also set to compete in the semifinal round. 

The No. 1 seeded Ellis knocked off Chad Tracy in the round of 16 and took down a former IGA Match Play Champion, Jon Olson in the quarterfinal round. Ellis will take on Gaer to advance to the championship round. Gaer beat the No. 4 seed Chris James and Tony Birmingham to place him in the semifinal round. 

Mechling had a tough road to the semifinal round as he had to defeat Hunter Johnson and three-time IGA Match Play Champion Jon Brown. Mechling will face off against McCoy for a chance at a final round appearance. McCoy defeated Ben Pettitt and the 2020 IGA Match Play Champion, Connor Peck. 

On the women’s side, Smith (right) continues her streak of being unbeatable as she advances to the semifinal round yet again. Smith looks to make it four-straight IGA Women’s Match Play Championship titles, but the journey will not be easy. 

Smith will take on the 2021 IGA Girls’ Player of the Year in Hoffman. Hoffman won her match over Ruby Chou, in 21 holes. The two competitors will battle for a spot in the final round.

Jensen is trying to make a return to the championship round. She defeated the 2020 IGA Girls’ Junior Amateur and will take on Watson for a chance at redemption. Watson knocked off the No. 3 sed Christi Imsland and Tabitha Schumacher to earn her place in the semifinal round. 

The semifinal and the championship rounds will take place on Friday. You can follow the final matches for the IGA Match Play Championship and the IGA Women’s Match Play Championship using our live scoring feature. 

Men’s Final Four
Dylan Ellis
Willis Gaer
Nate McCoy
Ethan Mechling

Women’s Final Four
Leanne Smith
Anna Jensen
Fiona Watson
Paige Hoffman

Scroll to top