Matches underway at 20th IGA Senior Match Play

The first round of matches at the 20th IGA Senior Match Play Championship wrapped up Wednesday afternoon. The championship made its second return to its home at Fort Dodge Country Club since the Iowa Golf Association began managing the championship.

In the Senior Division, defending champion Joe Palmer, of Norwalk, and Jay Gregory (pictured above), of Lineville, tied for first place in the stroke play portion of the tournament. Heading into match play, Gregory earned the No. 1 seed and Palmer took the No. 2 seed.

Gregory and Palmer both won their afternoon matches and will move on to the round of 16. The No. 4 seed Jeff Collett, of Ottumwa, won a 19-hole match against the 2022 Classic champion, Curtis Holck, of Ankeny.

The No. 30 seeded Robert Dickerman, of Marion, took the No. 3 seeded Dave Henry to the final hole where he won the match 1 up. Iowa Golf Hall of Famer, Jon Brown of Adel, won a close match against Waterloo’s Tom Christensen. 

Another upset was Marion’s Todd Hingtgen’s victory over Jeff Panek, of Johnston. Hingtgen holed out twice in his round, winning the match 1 up on the final hole. 

Muscatine’s Tom Norton won the Super Senior Division stroke play portion by three shots over Tom Schill, of Gowrie. Both competitors earned the top two seeds and byes in the first round of match play. 

Bob Hartzler, who claimed the No. 3 seed in the stroke play competition, defeated his opponent, Richard Jones of Fort Dodge, 3&1. The No. 4 seeded Jim Madsen, of Carroll, knocked off John Kinsey, of Alleman to move on to the Round of 16. 

Two early upsets put the Fort Dodge native, Terry Miller, and Randy Studer, of West Des Moines on watch. Miller took down the No. 10 seed Rob Christensen and Studer ended the No. 11 seed Mark Hogenson’s run early.

John Justus, of Marion and Tim McKnight, of Indianola, battled it out in the President’s Bracket. Justus took home the trophy after defeating McKnight 5&3. 

The second and third round of the championship will begin Thursday morning. You can follow the players as they battle for the Senior Match Play Champion title. 

President’s Bracket Champion
John Justus def. Tim McKnight 5&3

Senior Players Advancing
No. 1 Jay Gregory
No. 2 Joe Palmer
No. 4 Jeff Collett
No. 5 Tony Newkirk
No. 6 Chris Kramer
No. 7 Mike Gaul
No. 9 Brian Persson
No. 10 Jon Brown
No. 11 Brian Verduyn
No. 12 Terry Cook
No. 13 Jay Slings
No. 14 Ron Peterson
No. 15 Troy Underhill
No. 16 Bob Brummel
No. 25 Todd Hingtgen
No. 30 Robert Dickerman

Super Senior Players Advancing
No. 1 Tom Norton *BYE*
No. 2 Tom Schill *BYE*
No. 3 Bob Hartzler
No. 4 Jim Madsen
No. 5 Steve Khaler
No. 6 David Studer
No. 7 Ned Palmer
No. 9 Pat Ryan
No. 12 Mike McDonald
No. 13 Rick Gorbell
No. 17 Dave Sergeant
No. 18 Joel Yunek
No. 19 Tim Taylor
No. 22 Randy Studer
No. 23 Terry Miller
No. 25 Rick Leyendecker

Scroll to top