Opening day of 2020 Iowa Junior, Girls’ Junior Amateur sees good scoring

Clayton Phillips, of New London, sits atop a crowded leaderboard in the Boys’ 16-18 Division after shooting an even-par 72 in Wednesday’s opening round. Phillips overcame a double bogey on the first hole by making a flurry of pars, three birdies, and one bogey the rest of the way. Right behind Phillips is Ankeny’s Hunter Johnson, who made four birdies en route to posting a 1-over par round of 35-38-73. Sitting in a tie for third at 3-over par is Matthew Briggs, of Burlington, and Brandon McCarty, of North Liberty.

In the Girls’ 16-18 Division, Thursday is sure to be a shootout as West Des Moines’ Paige Hoffman & Newton’s Rylee Heryford are deadlocked in a tie for first after opening rounds of 75 (+3). Allison Nuss, of New Hampton, is only one back heading into tomorrow’s final round. She carded three birdies on her way to posting a 4-over round of 76.

In the Boys’ 14-15 Division, Indianola’s Jackson Overton leads the pack following his round of 40-41 for a final tally of 81 (+9). One shot behind Overton is Calen Bishop, of Johnston, at 10-over par. In the Girls’ 14-15 Division, local player Lauren Briggs, of Burlington, has a one-stroke advantage heading into Thursday’s final round. Briggs posted a 43-46 round of 89 (+17), highlighted by a birdie on the par-4 sixth hole. Clear Lake’s Meghan DeLong is one back after a consistent 45-45 round of 90 (+18).

In the Boys’ 12-13 Division, Braeden Nelson, of West Des Moines, captured the title by two shots after his round of 82 (+10). In the Girls’ 12-13 Division, Saleah Vivanhvong came back from an early deficit to win the title with her round of 92 (+20).

In the Boys’ 11 & Under Division, Nevada’s Parker Rogers topped the leaderboard, firing an 8-over par round of 44. In the Girls’ 11 & Under Division, Rylee Brockhouse, of Muscatine, won the title with an 11-over round of 47.

See full results here

See photos below of 12-13, 11 & Under Divisions

2020 Iowa Junior Champion Braeden Nelson (left) in the Boys’ 12-13 Division, alongside Vaughn Roseman, Runner-up (right).


2020 Iowa Girls’ Junior Amateur (12-13 Divsion) – Saleah Vivanhvong, Champion (left) and Morgan Rupp, Runner-up (right).


2020 Iowa Girls’ Junior Amateur (11 & Under Division) Champion (left) Rylee Brockhouse and Runner-up (right) Kirsten Nuss.


Pictured are 2020 Iowa Junior Amateur (11 & Under Division) Champion Parker Rodgers (left) and Runner-up Evan Graham.

Scroll to top