Two share lead at 73rd Herman Sani Tournament

After round one of the 73rd Herman Sani Tournament, two amateurs, Ian Meyer and Logan Barnes (above), lead the way, both with five-under rounds. 

The early morning tee-times favored our two leaders.

One-under going into his final nine holes, Meyer knew he needed to make something happen. Four birdies to close out his bogey-free, first round score, gave Meyer a tie for the lead alongside Barnes.  

Barnes couldn’t seem to keep the birdies off his scorecard. Eight birdies to only three bogeys gave Barnes a one-shot advantage going into the second round.  

A three-way tie for third place between Ethan Mechling, Anthony Ruthey and the Pro Division leader, Matthew Jennings rounds out the top-five. Those three competitors will head into the second round one shot off the lead at four-under. 

Three of the top seniors in Iowa lead the Senior Division. The 2023 Walker Cup Captain, Mike McCoy, carded an early morning round of 71, only to watch Joe Palmer and Jay Gregory tie him in their afternoon rounds. 

This year’s Senior Match Play champion, Jeff Collett, finished in a three-way tie with the 2022 U.S. Senior Amateur qualifier, Curtis Holck, and Kris Greenfield. All three competitors recorded one-over rounds and sit one shot below the leaders.

Defending champion, Bill Tank, holds a one-shot lead in the Super Senior Division. Early adversity struck Tank after a four-over start in his first four holes. Looking forward, Tank carded five total birdies to give him the early advantage. 

Jim Madsen finds himself one-shot behind Tank after a one-over round. With three birdies on his opening nine, Madsen will seek out another hot start in tomorrow’s second round. Joel Yunek holds third place with a two-over round of 73.

The second round of the 73rd Herman Sani Tournament will start back up Saturday morning. Follow the action on moving day using our live scoring feature to see if the leaders hang on for another day or if someone else jumps up to the top.

Open Division
T1. Ian Meyer -5 66
T1. Logan Barnes -5 66
T3. Matthew Jennings -4 67
T3. Ethan Mechling -4 67
T3. Anthony Ruthey -4 67

Amateur Division
T1. Ian Meyer -5 66
T1. Logan Barnes -5 66
T3. Ethan Mechling -4. 67
T3. Anthony Ruthey -4 67
5. Connor Peck -2 69

Senior Division
T1. Mike McCoy E 71
T1. Jay Gregory E 71
T1. Joe Palmer E 71
T4. Jeff Collett +1 72
T4. Curtis Holck +1 72
T4. Kris Greenfield +1 72

Super Senior Division
1. Bill Tank E 71
2. Jim Madsen +1 72
3. Joel Yunek +2 73
T4. Mike McDonald +4 75
T4. David Studer +4 75
T4. Robert Pomerantz +4 75
T4. Tom Schill +4 75

Scroll to top