Two tied for lead at 98th Iowa Women’s Amateur

Two teammates lead the way after round one of the 98th Iowa Women’s Amateur Championship. Warda Amira Rawof and Iowa State University teammate, Ruby Chou, carded one-under rounds to begin their title run at the top-notch Cedar Rapids Country Club (shown above). 

Rawof had the recently crowned Western Women’s Amateur Champion, Taglao Jeeravivitaporn, on the bag today as her caddie. The duo teamed up to record three birdies to only two bogeys and will look to break out of the tie with Chou.

Chou knocked in five birdies during her round today. Going into the last five-hole stretch on her front nine, Chou was two-over par and looking up at Rawof on the leaderboard. Chou fought back and went three-under on those holes. 

“After that double, I told myself to calm down because this course has lots of birdie chances that we can get,” Chou said. “Those next five holes to finish my front nine, I didn’t think too much, and I just played them.”

The 2022 IGA Women’s Match Play Champion, Anna Jensen is in a three-way tie with Eden Lohrbach and Amber Henson for third place. The three competitors sit one shot back of Rawof and Chou after even-par rounds. 

Rose Kubesheski continued her dominate play this season after a four-over round of 76 to begin her week in the Open Division. Kubesheski leads by two shots over Jesup’s Michelle Klein, who posted six-over 78. 

Kim Fensterman took third place with a 79 on the day. The Cedar Rapids native is in home field territory and will look to push the leaders all week. The 2021 IGA Senior Women’s Player of the Year, Laura Leszczynski, is not far behind after an eight-over round 80. 

Defending Open Division champion, Kelly Nelson, will head into round two in a tie for fifth place alongside Kim Kieckhaefer. The two competitors carded 10-over rounds of 82 and round out the top-five in the Open Division. 

The second round of the 98th Iowa Women’s Amateur Championship will take place Tuesday morning.

Championship Division
T1. Warda Amira Rawof -1 71
T1. Ruby Chou -1 71
T3. Anna Jensen E 72
T3. Eden Lohrbach E 72
T3. Amber Henson E 72

Open Division
1. Rose Kubesheski +4 76
2. Michelle Klein +6 78
3. Kim Fensterman +7 79
4. Laura Leszczynski +8 80
T5. Kelly Nelson +10 82
T5. Kim Kieckhaefer +10 82

Scroll to top