Ullestad, Kinney take lead into final round at 116th Iowa Amateur

The defending champion isn’t going down without a fight at the 116th Iowa Amateur.

Jewell’s Trevor Ullestad, who captured the 115th Iowa Amateur title at Cedar Rapids Country Club last year, posted 69 (-2) to join Tripp Kinney, of Des Moines, atop the leaderboard at Tournament Club of Iowa. Kinney shot the low round of the day with 67 (-4). Both players sit at 139 (-3) for two days.

Sitting just two shots, off the pace, at -1, are opening round leader Andrew Huseman (Ankeny) and Matthew Walker (Ottumwa).  Ryoto Furuya (Iowa City) and Jon Brown (Adel) are both lurking at 142 (E) and are just three shots back of the lead. Brown won the 2018 IGA Match Player earlier this summer and will look to add the Iowa Amateur to the list this year.

A total of 61 players made the cut at +14 and will play in tomorrow’s final round.

Click here for a recap of scoring

Scroll to top