Irv Warren Memorial GC wins, Smith defends title at Elmcrest CC

Irv Warren Memorial Golf Course overthrew Echo Valley Country Club as the 61st IGA Women’s Club Team champions and Leanne Smith (above left) defends her title at Elmcrest Country Club in Cedar Rapids. 

Smith fired a four-under round of 66 to earn back-to-back titles. Five birdies and one eagle gave Smith a three-shot lead over her IGA Four-Ball partner, Julie Buerman. Buerman carded a 69 to finish second in the Gross Division.

With a two-over tally, the side of Irv Warren Memorial Golf Course was able to slide by the defending champions at Echo Valley Country Club by one shot. Lindsay Burry led her squad with a three-over round. 

Rose Kubesheski finished second on the team with a 75 total. Kubesheski’s Four-Ball partner, Margene Grady, added a 78 to the team’s total while Kelly Nelson tacked on an efficient round of 79.

Sunnyside Country Club won the Net Division with a 10-under total. Their team finished with a 200 total with Renea Freidman leading the way with a 67. The side of Sunnyside Country Club topped St. Andrews second group by one shot. 

Amy Olberding (above right) was crowned the individual Net Division champion with a four-under round of 66. Olberding broke out of the three-way tie for second place to win by one shot. Mary Hoefle, Renea Friedman and Cindy Reinertsen concluded their day in a tie for second. 

On August 22, the Iowa Golf Association holds the Iowa Senior Amateur at Ames Golf and Country Club. Follow the seniors using our live scoring feature as they battle for this year’s crown.

Gross Division
Irv Warren Memorial GC +2 212
Echo Valley CC +3 213
Elmcrest CC +5 215
Sunnyside CC +7 217
St. Andrews-2 +8 218

Individual Gross Division
Leanne Smith -4 66
Julie Buerman -1 69
Amy Olberding E 70
Erin Schaffer E 70
Renea Friedman E 70

Net Division
Sunnyside CC -10 200
St. Andrews-2 -9 201
Hyperion Field Club -4 206
Irv Warren Memorial GC -4 206
Echo Valley CC -4 206

Individual Net Division
Amy Olberding -4 66
Mary Hoefle -3 67
Renea Friedman -3 67
Cindy Reinertsen -3 67
Lisa Zbylicki -2 68

Scroll to top