Category: IGA Women’s Club Team

Echo Valley CC wins 59th IGA Women’s Club Team, UGCC takes Net Division

The 59th IGA Women’s Club Team Championship was held Monday at Irv Warren Memorial Golf Course and featured low rounds in both the Net and Gross Divisions.

Briarwood Golf Club’s Mikayla Olson took home medalists honors, for individual gross, after firing -2, 70. Her round featured five birdies, including two on her last three holes. Echo Valley Country Club’s Leanne Smith finished runner-up after her even par round of 72.

After watching one of their own be edged out in the Gross Individual Competition, Echo Valley CC captured the Gross Division title, by one, over Briarwood Golf Club. Echo Valley shot a +5, 221 with Briarwood Golf Club firing a 222.

In the Net Individual Division, Urbandale Golf & Country Club’s Krista Lindholm took home the title after shoot -5, 67. Urbandale G&CC also won the team portion of the Net Division by firing -11, 205. They tied with the LPGA Amateur Golf Association but won in via scorecard playoff.

Click here for recap of scoring

Rain doesn’t dampen great golf at 58th IGA Women’s Club Team

On Monday, a talented field of women from across the state (shown above) gathered at Coldwater Golf Links to compete in the 58th IGA Women’s Club Team Championship. This year was Coldwater’s first time hosting the Women’s Club Team, and the course along with the mixed in rain provided the ladies with a strong test.

The format for the championship includes teams of four ladies from IGA Member Clubs. Each club fields a team of 4 amateur golfers, with one golfer designated as a Team Captain. A club participates in both the net and gross divisions. Each golfer plays her own golf ball throughout the competition. A club records the best 3 of 4 scores on each hole for both the gross and net competition.

Low Gross Team – Echo Valley Country Club: Robin Webb, Leanne Smith, Valerie Weis and Laura Fulton.

Echo Valley Country Club, of Norwalk, were champions in the Gross Division for the second time, also winning in 2016. Echo Valley posted a 10-over 223 total, led by Leanne Smith’s even par-71 round that included five birdies. Laura Fulton and Valerie Weis finished with a pair of 81’s, and Robin Webb came in nicely with an 82.

Low Net Team – Irv Warren Memorial Golf Course: Mary Kroeger, Kelly Nelson, Margene Grady and Michelle Klein.

Irv Warren Memorial Golf Course, of Waterloo, sealed the victory in the Net Division for the second time, also winning in 2014. The team separated themselves from the field by posting 13-under net total. Irv Warren was led by Kelly Nelson who shot a four-over par 75 (net 70) and Michelle Klein who posted a 78 (net 72). Margene Grady and Mary Kroeger rounded out the squad with net scores of 71 and 78, respectively. LPGA Amateurs Golf Association came in second with an 11-under total, and Sunnyside Country Club and Urbandale Golf & CC tied for third with a 10-under total.

Briarwood Golf Club’s Hadley Morgan fired a 2-under 69 to win the Individual Gross Division. Hadley carded four birdies and played each nine under par on the day. Leanne Smith of Echo Valley was Runner-Up with an even par 71.

Noreen Christians of the LPGA Amateurs Golf Association and Renee Buckner of Ankeny Golf & Country Club tied for first in the Net Division, with both players playing well and finishing with 4-under par net totals of 67.

Low Gross Individual – Hadley Morgan, Briarwood Golf Club.

Low Net Individual – Noreen Christians, LPGA Amateurs – Des Moines.

Hunters Ridge Golf Course wins 56th IGA Women’s Club Team Championship

The team from Hunters Ridge Golf Course (pictured above) captured the 56th IGA Women’s Club Team Championship at Marshalltown’s Elmwood Country Club with a score of 239 (+26). Led by Julie Buerman, who was the individual gross score winner with 71 (E), HRGC outdistanced Briarwood Golf Club by 9 shots. HRGC’s team consisted of Katie Wenthe, Mollie Lorenz, Carol Klocke and Buerman.

In the Net Division, Des Moines Golf and Country Club (above) edged out HRGC by a single shot, 217-218. DMGCC was led by overall Individual Net Division winner Kelly Dettbarn, who posted a net 65 (-6). DMGCC’s team included Barb Burley, Amy Fox, Leighann LaRocca and Dettbarn.

The format of the event similar to a college or high school event, in which an IGA Member Club submits a team of four women to play. There was both a gross and net competition, with the best 3 of 4 18-hole gross or net scores counting for the team score, respectively. Overall a total of 16 IGA Club Member teams participated in the event.

Click here for a full recap of scoring.

Gross – Individual Champion -Julie Buerman (71)

Net – Individual Net Division winner Kelly Dettbarn (65)

Scroll to top